Matthew McChlery – BA PGCE

I am an experienced primary school teacher holding both a Bachelor of Arts degree (Rhodes University, South Africa) and a Post Graduate Certificate of Education (UNISA). I graduated from Teacher Training College with distinction.

As a Key Stage 2 specialist, I have over 15 years of primary school teaching experience and I am also experienced at teaching adults as I have been a CAP Money Coach in the past. I have also given seminars and workshops about Facebook and Social Media to a variety of audiences.

I am also fully DBS checked and am a member of The Tutors Association.

I believe everyone deserves the best education possible. By using a variety of teaching styles and approaches, together we will find the best way for you to learn as well as helping you to enjoy the experience too.

Whether you are wanting to provide your child with extra help in areas they are finding difficult, giving them an improved chance at tackling examinations with confidence, or indeed you yourself are wanting to learn something for yourself, or you want to be able to understand and help them with their homework, I can help.

I am looking forward to working with you!

 

Services

  Maths Help (KS2)

For those who find Mathematics and Numeracy a struggle, I am here to help. I am happy to focus on the particular areas you are having difficulty with, or if maths is ‘not your thing’ I am happy to go over everything with you, looking at all aspects to help you understand it as best you can and help build your confidence.

  English Help (KS2)

Are you baffled by adverbial phrases and conjunctions or you just want general improvement in your writing style and technique? I’m here for you! My major at university was in English Literature and English Language and I have also authored a few books (check them out on Amazon!) so I have a pretty good idea about what I am talking about. These days grammar can be particularly challenging, but do not worry, I can help you understand and apply it all.

  SATs & 11+ Entrance Exam Preparation

Exams! What a horrid word! But unfortunately they are part of life and need to be done. The good news is you don’t have to do it alone. I can help prepare you for your SATs that you sit near the end of Year 6 or if you are sitting an 11+ Examination (eg. for Wisbech Grammar School or Spalding High) I can help prepare you with work on CAT tests, Verbal and Non-Verbal Reasoning, Reading Comprehension, Mathematics tests, exam technique, timing etc.

  Numeracy & Literacy Help (Adults)

Want to help the kids with their homework but are finding it tough? Why not improve your numeracy and literacy skills in order to help them? I can help you ‘brush up’ on the areas you are unsure of as well as helping you to understand some of the new methods of mathematical calculation that you may not have used when you were at school.

  Computing Basics (Adults)

Struggling to use your laptop or tablet? I can help you to use it more effectively. I can show you how to: use the internet, search for things, do internet shopping safely, receive and send email, use a word processor, listen to music or watch a movie – just to name a few. We will have a chat to see what you want to get from the lessons and I will tailor them towards your needs and requirements.

  Social Media (Adults)

Many people are afraid to use social media (such as Facebook) because they don’t understand it or know how to use it. I can help you navigate whichever chosen social media program you have decided upon (including twitter, Whatsapp, Messenger, etc.). I can also help you set up your profile so that it is safe and secure and alert you to things you should and should not do. We will have a chat to see what you want to get from the lessons and I will tailor them towards your needs and requirements.

Bespoke 1-on-1 Tuition

Due to space limitations, I am only able to take students on a 1-on-1 basis. However, this does mean that teaching will be bespoke and  tailor-made for you and your preferred learning style.

Parents will receive a lesson summary at the end of each session.

Adult learners will receive a lesson summary at the end of each session.

 

Prices

£25 for 45minutes

£30 for 60 minutes

 

It is assumed students will be taught on a weekly basis.

I accept cash, card, Apple Pay, Android Pay etc.

 

Venue

I have recently converted my outdoor garage into a home study which is a comfortable work environment located in my back garden. I am located on the outskirts of Wisbech just off Walton Road on Windsor Drive. Click here for a map and directions.